The McSAFER consortium consists of 13 partners including universities, research centres, manufacturers, and utilities located in Europe and Latin America.

The project has received funding from the Horizon 2020 Euratom Research and Training Programme 2019-2020 under the topic “Support for safety research of Small Modular Reactors (NFRP-2019-2020-05)”. The project started on 1st September 2020 and will last 36 months. It is coordinated by Dr. V. H. Sanchez Espinoza from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Institute for Neutron Physics and Reactor Technology (INR).